h1

For friends and family – update on friends with pants

August 16, 2014

This is the first in what will be quite a few non-skull related posts here. My inability to keep up to date with one blog has eliminated any possibility of me keeping two (one personal and one skullinal) so I am just combining the two. If you are friend or family this post is for you. If I don’t know you but you want to read anyway, that is creepy, but I am the one posting this on the net – so ok. I’m not in a position to be knocking back friends so add yourself to that group (family is obviously a harder door list to get added to).

So today is my 42nd day in London. Six weeks would have been a more logical way to describe that, but anyway.

Thank you to everyone who has been in touch. Everyone who hasn’t is now officially a jerk. To ease your worried minds I am safe, housed, clothed, employed and have not yet become mentally or physically ill. So things are going pretty well.

A back home friend (hi Adamin!) recently asked me if I had made any friends over here… And while everyone has been incredibly welcoming and friendly, I am not really sure that I have. I have certainly found a number of people that I enjoy spending time with… but they are all of the variety that when they say, “would you like to go out and do X”, my answer would be “sure, let me go home and put on some make up and good pants.”

When really, I am more in the market for friends that I can respond with “let me go home and take off my make up and pants. I’ll leave the door open – I’ll be on the couch watching TV. Let yourself in.”

To be fair, I have probably only really made 2 or 3 of these friends in my lifetime. By that maths I can only really expect to make one every 10 or so years, so I shouldn’t hold my breath. But in a city the size of London, surely there are other lazy slobs to be found. A roadmap to them might be nice. Or a treasure map? Seeing as I have now established the requirement for pants as my litmus test for a good friendship, maybe I should just try my luck on the streets pantless? I’ll keep you all updated on my pantless friend progress anyway…

And lets round things out for today with a rainbow. This one is from out of my bedroom window and is ending in the BBC buildings around the corner. I might go look for the gold this afternoon. Possibly without pants.

rainbow

5 comments

  1. I’m sorry Vic I’m in the jerk category, although I’ve looked at anything you’ve posted I haven’t msg’d you. It sounds to me as if you’re having fun discovering your new home, I really hope you are having lots of fun, seeing and enjoying lots of new experiences, make the most of it you have earn’t it, keep posting and keeping us updated xxx

    Sent from my iPhone

    >


    • Oh aunty Neene, don’t worry – you could never be a jerk!


  2. Assuming I’m the Adamin, I’m honoured to be mentioned. And I would advise you to check the British definition of ‘pants’.


    • That’s you buddy! You are talking about underwear right? Considering I flatly refuse to call the stereotypical strappy shoes anything but thongs, the whole country must think I am some kind of deviate by now…


      • Cruising around London in pants and thongs…



Leave a Reply

